Travel Tips

  • Resorts, hotels, nightclubs, and restaurants charge a 23% service tax (13% sales tax and 10% service charge)
  • The Colón fluctuates relative to the US Dollar
  • Anyone carrying an International Driver's License or a valid Driver's License from your own country may drive in Costa Rica for 90 days
  • Electrical Outlets are 120V 60AC (same as US)
  • Costa Rica uses the Metric System
  • All persons have the right to $100 USD exemption on merchandise brought into the country
  • Personal effects include clothing, personal items, medicines and special foods sufficient for the travel period
  • There are heavy consequences for the bringing illegal substances into the country
  • To enter the country one must bring a passport, tourist card, or valid driver's license

Entry Requirements

  • The following countries (* and their dependencies) do not require a visa for visits up to 90 days:
Germany, Andorra, Argentina, Australia*, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Chile, Cyprus, Denmark*, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, United States*, Estonia, Finland, France*, Hungary, Ireland, Iceland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, México, Montenegro, Norway*, New Zealand*, Netherlands*, Panama, Paraguay, Poland, Portugal, Principality Of Monaco, San Marino, Puerto Rico, Serbia, South Africa, United Kingdom Of Great Britain And Northern Ireland **, Czech Republic, Republic Of South Korea, Hellenic Republic (Greece), Romania, Vatican City, Singapore, Sweden, Switzerland, Republic Of China (Taiwan), Trinidad And Tobago and Uruguay.
  • The following countries require a yellow fever vaccination certificate before entering the country:
Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Gabon, Gambia, Guinea, Liberia, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Sudan, Bolivia, Venezuela, Brazil, Peru, Colombia and Ecuador as well as the Republic of Guyana
  • The following countries do not require a visa for visits up to 30 days (application for extension available upon entering Costa Rica):
Antigua and Barbuda, Belice, Bolivia, Dominica, El Salvador, Russian Federation, Phillipines, Fiji, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Northern Marianas, Marshall Islands, Solomon Islands, Kiribati, Maldives, Mauritius, Federated States Of Micronesia, Nauru, Palau, Kingdom Of Tonga, Samoa, Saint Kitts And Nevis, Saint Vincent And The Grenadines, Saint Lucia, Sao Tome And Principe, Seychelles, Suriname, Tuvalu, Turkey, Vanuatu and Venezuela.

IF your country is not listed above, a visa from the Costa Rica embassy or consulate is required before entering the country.
Content Creation Platforms by One Big Broadcast
Background Image